Tigers 21-man squad to face Leeds

Posted: Wednesday 31st March 2021 - 12:00 PM

The fixtures taking place in Betfred Super League over this Easter weekend will be in support of Mose Masoe and fans are being urged to purchase 'virtual tickets' in a huge sport-wide fundraising effort for The Mose Masoe Foundation.

Fans can choose to donate either £5, £10, £15, or £20. The virtual tickets will be a donation only, as a gesture of solidarity within the Rugby League community, meaning a Sky Sports subscription or Our League access is still required to watch the games as normal.

Text 70085 to get your virtual ticket (texts cost the amount donate plus one standard message rate)

  • Text 5MOSE to donate £5
  • Text 10MOSE to donate £10
  • Text 15MOSE to donate £15
  • Text 20MOSE to donate £20 ​

The Tigers Head Coach has made just two changes to the team that was named ahead of last week’s opening round victory over Warrington Wolves with Gareth O’Brien and Jacques O’Neill making way for Lewis Bienek and Lewis Peachey. It marks the first call into the 21-man squad for Lewis Bienek who if selected in the matchday 17 will make his competitive Tigers debut.

Both Castleford and Leeds will be looking to lay down an early marker of consistency in the season after both secured wins in the first round of Betfred Super League 2021. The Rhinos edged past Wakefield Trinity 22-28, whilst the Tigers impressed against Warrington in a 21-12 victory.

Back in October was the last time these two fierce rivals met, in what would be Castleford’s final match of 2020. It was an intense encounter as is often the case in a derby match and saw the Fords reduced to 12-men for the majority of the game after Oliver Holmes’ red card. Despite being down a man, Cas fought until the end but lost out in a close contest 28-24.

Castleford Tigers 21-man squad vs Leeds Rhinos

1. Niall Evalds
2. Derrell Olpherts
3. Peter Mata’utia
4. Michael Shenton
6. Jake Trueman
7. Danny Richardson
8. Liam Watts
9. Paul McShane
10. Grant Millington
11. Oliver Holmes
12. Cheyse Blair
13. Adam Milner
14. Nathan Massey
15. George Griffin
19. Tyla Hepi
21. Jesse Sene-Lefao
22. Daniel Smith
23. Greg Eden
25. Jordan Turner
26. Lewis Bienek
27. Lewis Peachey

Share this article: