Watts at the treble on awards night

Posted: Sunday 15th September 2019 - 2:25 PM

More than 500 supporters, players, sponsors and guests celebrated the occasion at the Elland Road Pavillion this evening to see Watts crowned both the Player of the Year and the Players’ Player of the Year after a campaign that also brought about England and Great Britain call ups for the consistent front rower.

Watts beat additional nominees Nathan Massey and Jake Trueman to the Player of the Year title, whilst Trueman was also a runner up in the Players’ Player of the Year category alongside James Clare.

Watts then ended the night by picking up the first ever Immortals Award for 2019 after Director of Rugby Jon Wells had confirmed plans to launch the programme in recognition of the players who had made the biggest contributions to the history and heritage of Castleford Tigers and etched their names into the very foundations of the club.

This saw Cas legends Arthur Atkinson, Alan Hardisty, Keith Hepworth, Malcolm Reilly and John Joyner inducted as the first Immortals for the year 2019, with Hardisty, Hepworth and Joyner present on the night to present Watts with the new Immortals Award on stage.

Earlier in the evening, the Castleford Tigers Women’s team also celebrated an outstanding season that sees them currently sat top of the Women’s Super League table and runners up in this year’s Coral Challenge Cup.

Defending Woman Of Steel Georgia Roche scooped the top prize of Women’s Player of the Year after another impressive season in the halves, whilst further awards went to Sinead Peach, Grace Field and Kelsey Gentles, the latter extending her enjoyable week having also been confirmed as a nominee for this year’s Woman of Steel honour.

Elsewhere on the night, Joe Summers scooped both of the major awards for the under-19s and also confirmed he’d signed a new first team contract for 2020, whilst Grant Millington picked up the new Community Player of the Year title in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the local area and his hard work of the field in conjunction with the Castleford Tigers Community Foundation.

Chris Clarkson picked up the Try of the Year via a vote from guests on the night for his effort against former club Hull KR back in March.

Awards winners:

Immortals Award
Liam Watts

Player of the Year
Liam Watts

Players’ Player of the Year
Liam Watts

Community Player of the Year
Grant Millington

Try of the Year
Chris Clarkson

Women’s Player of the Year
Georgia Roche

Women’s Players’ Player of the Year
Sinead Peach

Women’s Supporters’ Player of the Year
Grace Field

Women’s Top Try Scorer
Kelsey Gentles

Under-19s Player of the Year
Joe Summers

Under-19s Players’ Player of the Year
Joe Summers

Castleford Tigers Foundation Immortals
Arthur Atkinson
Alan Hardisty
Keith Hepworth
Malcolm Reilly
John Joyner

Share this article: