19-man squad to take on Saints

Posted: Wednesday 28th August 2019 - 12:04 PM

Head Coach Daryl Powell makes two changes with Cory Aston & Tuoyo Egodo stepping out of the side with Liam Watts and Calum Turner coming in. Watts has been out of the squad following the away match at Hull KR but is set to feature against the League Leaders’ Shield winners St Helens.

Castleford will be aiming to make it three wins in a row after victories over London Broncos at home and Huddersfield Giants away, but it will be a tough task against the table topping Saints who sit in 1st place, 16 points ahead of the teams in 2nd, 3rd and 4th. The Tigers have three games left in the regular season to make a push into the play-off spots, heading into this match they sit in 6th missing out of the top five on points difference. Whilst the Tigers have not won away at Saints in the league since 1990, Powell is not focusing on that:

“We’ve got to forget about the record a little bit and go, right here we go we need to play well in this game and everybody’s got to be on top of their game and if we do that then we’ve got a good chance of turning it over.”

WATCH Daryl Powell preview the match, for free, on Tigers TV

Justin Holbrook’s side will be looking to get back into winning form following their loss in the Challenge Cup Final against Warrington Wolves last Saturday afternoon, the Saints went into the game as hot favourites to lift the trophy but Warrington were victorious 18-4.

Join the Cas contingent at the Totally Wicked Stadium on Friday night and help #BeTheDifference in the Tigers' #PlayOffPush.

Tickets are available online and in our retail stores in Carlton Lanes & Xscape Yorkshire.

Castleford Tigers 19-man squad vs St Helens

35. Cheyse Blair
2. James Clare
20. Jamie Ellis
11. Oliver Holmes
23. Will Maher
14. Nathan Massey
1. Peter Mata’utia
12. Mike McMeeken
9. Paul McShane
10. Grant Millington
13. Adam Milner
3. Greg Minikin
29. Jacques O’Neill
32. Jordan Rankin
15. Jesse Sene-Lefao
34. Daniel Smith
6. Jake Trueman
27. Calum Turner
8. Liam Watts

Share this article: