Powell Announces 19-Man Squad

Posted: Wednesday 30th January 2019 - 11:58 AM

The Tigers launch their 2019 campaign at the Mend-A-Hose Jungle on Friday 1st February (7:45pm) as Catalans Dragons visit West Yorkshire.

Pre-season preparations for Powell’s side have gone well after two training camps, and an impressive friendly win over Leeds Rhinos.

His side welcomes back Ben Roberts into the 19-man squad after the half back missed the Rhinos friendly with a slight back injury while Greg Eden is also in line to return to the field after missing the clash at Headingley.

Powell is pleased with his sides pre-season and is ready for the challenge of Catalans: “A couple of weeks ago we played against Leeds in what was for a lot of our players their only friendly before the season and we looked in good shape, particularly in the first half. It is a big challenge for us this week in the form of a very physical side in Catalans but we’re confident and we feel like we’ve done a lot of work on the areas that we felt we needed to improve and we’ll get to see if that has worked or not on Friday but I’m confident with the amount of work the players have put in that we’ll get a positive result.

We’ve had a lot of players that have had outstanding pre-seasons, probably the best pre-seasons of their careers. From that regard we’re in great shape. You look around the league and some of the teams have recruited pretty heavily, whether recruitment beats stability we’ll have to find out but I’m confident that what we have in our group of players is a really good mix and they’ve got an ability to be an outstanding rugby league team.”

Tickets for the game are still available from both our club stores, the Tigers Den in Carlton Lanes and Castleford Tigers Sports Super Store in Xscape Yorkshire.

Standing tickets for the game are priced as follows when purchased in advance:

 Adults: £22
Junior: £14
Concession (over 60s): £14
Student (with valid student ID): £14


Castleford Tigers 19-Man Squad vs Catalans Dragons

2.            James Clare
21.         Mitch Clark
18.         Matt Cook
5.            Greg Eden
17.         Alex Foster
14.         Nathan Massey
1.            Peter Mata’utia
12.         Mike McMeeken
9.            Paul McShane
10.         Grant Millington
13.         Adam Milner
3.            Greg Minikin
16.         Junior Moors
32.         Jordan Rankin
19.         Ben Roberts
15.         Jesse Sene-Lefao
4.            Michael Shenton
6.            Jake Trueman
8.            Liam Watts

Share this article: