Let the 8’s begin!

Posted: Wednesday 8th August 2018 - 11:56 AM

The match kicks off at 7:45pm and is live on Sky Sports and Cas Tigers Radio.

Powell makes three changes to his 19 man squad who claimed victory over Widnes Vikings in their last outing, with Jake Webster, Joe Wardle and Will Maher replacing Peter Mata’utia (hamstring), Calum Turner and Jacques O’Neill.

The Castleford squad have enjoyed a mid-season break to rest and are now ready to battle it out as the Super 8’s begin. Speaking today Powell said: “The boys had pretty much a full week off, and it was nice to let them freshen up and it was a bit of a reward for all the hard work so far this season. There has been a lot of pressure put on certain players because of the injuries we’ve had, and they’ve stood up really well. This week now we are back, the boys have looked fresh and have trained really hard, we’ve had a couple of great sessions and they really look ready to go.”

Powell knows his team will be in for a tough battle when they take on the Warriors: “This is a key game against Wigan this week, because depending on the result we’re either 1 point ahead of them of 3 behind them in second place. There needs to be fantastic attitude from the team not just for this one but for our first three with us taking on Warrington the week after and then Catalans after Wembley. We’re in a great position in 3rd at the moment with a good cushion to the teams outside of the top 4 and we still have talented players like Luke Gale, Grant Millington, Greg Minikin and Peter Mata’utia to come back into our squad.”

Tickets and limited coach travel will remain onsale until 12 noon on Friday. You can purchase yours from the Castleford Tigers Sports Superstore in Xscape, the Tigers Den club shop in Carlton Lanes and via the Tigers online box office here. Click here for ticket prices.

Wigan Warriors v Castleford Tigers  - Castleford 19 man squad
26. James Clare
23. Mitch Clark
5. Greg Eden
6. Jamie Ellis
28. Kieran Gill
11. Oliver Holmes
34. Quentin Laulu-Togaga’e
25. Will Maher
14. Nathan Massey
12. Mike McMeeken
9. Paul McShane
13. Adam Milner
8. Junior Moors
15. Jesse Sene-Lefao
4. Michael Shenton
21. Jake Trueman
16. Joe Wardle
32. Liam Watts
3. Jake Webster

Share this article: